Skip navigation

I haven’t seen Step Up, but based on my research, I see that it’s in no way related to Step Up 2 the Streets aside from the title. So, my strong dislike of this “sequel” lies not within my not having seen the “original” but with how much Step Up 2 the Streets sucks.

Andie (Briana Evigan), a hottie with a raspy Demi Moore voice, skips school in order to join a “crew,” a dance group that dances against other groups in order to gain respect and title as who is the best, as if the Bloods and the Crips were talented toe-tappers.

Soon, Andie is given an ultimatum. She has to go to dancing school or live with her aunt in Texas. She chooses the former, sticking out like a sore thumb because she doesn’t “conform,” as she and her street-dancing friends call traditional dance.

As cool as the first and last dance numbers are, the movie is incredibly lacking in the writing department. Inanimate objects have more wit, brains, and life than these characters and this movie as a whole. These characters have no dimension: it’s a compliment to call them 1-D. It doesn’t help that the acting is average, even at some times horrendous. These people are very talented dancers, but that doesn’t mean I should be seeing K-Fed anytime soon on the big screen.

I can say one thing to the movie’s credit. Because it’s on the soundtrack, that “apple bottom jeans” song will forever be stuck in my head.

Rating: 4/10

Leave a comment