Skip navigation

As I was writing my contribution to A Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger Blog-a-thon this morning, I decided to check out what was new at The Aspect Ratio since they usually have great pieces (especially about older movies: check out their best lists for each decade in the In Focus section). There, I found a post with only a movie poster and a link to this video.

For all two of you out there who are not completely giddy about The Dark Knight, you will be even further convinced that, yes, this may very well be the best superhero movie ever.

I don’t read comics, but I have friends who do, and I’m constantly delighted when they tell to me about the themes and characters and storylines of their favorite comic books and show me how incredibly complex these stories are. (Really, I love it.) Then when I see the respective film versions like Spawn (the theatrical release and HBO animated series are both fantastic), Fritz the Cat, and Ghost World, I wonder why I haven’t ever checked out comics before. What a great art.

Yes, at 20 years old, I can admit that I’m a little late in the game to realize that comics have the potential to be high art. But at least I’ve finally come to.

Concerning The Dark Knight, one of my comic book-loving friends said that he can only see Jack Nicholson playing the Joker convincingly because he’s the only actor that’s crazy enough to be able to play that insane of a character. It’s not just him: a lot of people are worried about Heath Ledger’s performance as the Joker. But when Christopher Nolan was asked why he cast Ledger, he said, “Because he’s fearless.” And he’s absolutely right. I mean, what’s more fearless than a Hollywood sex symbol taking on a role as a gay cowboy, which ironically ends up being what’s probably his best performance to date?

Anyway, the trailer is awesome (and the poster is super-sweet). Like the Joker said: “Let’s put a smile on that face!”

It sure does.

Leave a Reply

